New Jersey Private Investigators Licensing Requirements
The requirements to get a PI’s license in New Jersey may change. Below are a current list of the general requirements. Please visit the states website for the most up-to-date list of requirements.
- Be at least 18 years old
- Be a residents of the United States
- Have no felony, domestic violence, or abuse convictions
- Have no misdemeanor convictions associated with theft, honesty, fraud, or sale or use of controlled substances
- 5 years of experience as an investigator or police officer with a local or state police department or with an investigative agency for a county, city, state or federal organization.
Licensing Authority in New Jersey:
PI’s licensing in New Jersey is governed by the New Jersey State Police Private Detective Unit.
New Jersey State Police Private Detective Unit
P.O. Box 7068
West Trenton, New Jersey 08628-0068
Phone: 609-341-3426 or
email at: firstname.lastname@example.org
New Jersey Licensed Private Investigators Association
Find a Private Investigator near you!
Our directory has useful resources for finding Expert P.I’s. agencies, and Verified Private Investigators. If you are seeking to verify a private investigators license, or simply need a Private Investigator near you, then this directory will prove to be valuable resource.