Oregon Private Investigators Licensing Requirements
The requirements to get a PI’s license in Oregon may change. Below are a current list of the general requirements. Please visit the states website for the most up-to-date list of requirements.
- Be at least 18 years old
- Must be a US Citizen
- Have no felony, domestic violence, or abuse convictions
- Have no misdemeanor convictions associated with theft, honesty, fraud, or sale or use of controlled substances
- Complete a PI-1 (application)
- Secure a surety bond, irrevocable letter of credit or errors & omissions insurance in the minimum amount of $5000 with your name listed as principal
- Complete one (1) fingerprint card
- Complete three (3) professional letters of reference. References cannot be related to you by blood or marriage or be personal in nature.
- Submit proof of 1500 hours (via resume), some educational substitution may apply.
- Complete two (2) passport quality photographs. (Photos are to be submitted electronically at email@example.com. *Digital photo must meet certain criteria, see below for explanation. No copies or laser printer copies will be accepted.)
- PI-27 (Private Investigator Professional Code of Ethics)
- Review the list of criminal disqualifiers in Oregon Administrative Rules Division 61.
- Submit $70.25 for the application fee and the required $550 licensing fee (VISA/MC, cashier’s check, money order, or business check. No personal checks or cash, please.)
- Once your completed application packet is processed you will receive exam information via email. The exam is online through Workday.
Licensing Authority in Oregon:
Department of Public Safety Standards & Training
Oregon Association of Licensed Investigators
Find a Private Investigator near you!
Our directory has useful resources for finding Expert P.I’s. agencies, and Verified Private Investigators. If you are seeking to verify a private investigators license, or simply need a Private Investigator near you, then this directory will prove to be valuable resource.