Private Investigators License Hawaii Requirements
The following is general licensing information. Please visit the website for specific licensing detailed information, application forms, insurance requirements, education and training, fees, and any special licensing requirements.
Investigators General Licensing Requirements:
If you are interested in becoming a private investigator in the state of Hawaii, then look no further. Our bullet points below will dispel any licensing requirement questions you may have. In Hawaii, the private investigator license is administrated by the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs Professional & Vocational Licensing Division. For becoming a licensed private investigator, here are the following requirements to acquire an investigators license.
- Age: Applicant for P.I License must be at least 18 years old.
- Citizenship: The Applicant must be a citizen or a national, or an alien authorized to work in the U.S.
- Fingerprint Check: All applicants are needed to submit to a federal bureau of investigation (FBI) fingerprint check through the Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center (HCJDC).
- Criminal History Check: To get an FBI National or State of Hawaii Criminal History Record Check, applicants must be electronically fingerprinted at Fieldprint Inc. or any other approved agency.
- Mental Health Check: The applicant has not presently suffered from any psychological or psychiatric illness or disorder
- Required Insurance: Hawaii’s private Investigator surety bond is needed no less than $5000.
- Disqualifications Automatically: There is disqualification automatically if an applicant is under 18 years of age or dishonorable discharge or a criminal conviction.
- Degree: The applicant must have a high school education or its equivalent education.
- Experience: The applicant must have at least 4-years of full-time working experience in the field of investigation: Police officer, Government employee, working for a law firm or under the supervision of a licensed investigator.
- Fee – 1: If a license issued between 1st July, even-numbered year to 30th June, odd-numbered year, the total fee is $280 that included a License fee is $34, Compliance Resolution Fund is $148 & 1/2 Renewal fee is $98.
- Fee – 2: If a license issued between 1st July, odd-numbered year to 30th June, even-numbered year, the total fee is $108 that included a License fee is $34, Compliance Resolution Fund is $74.
- Written Exam: After getting approval by the State Board, the applicant must pass the written exam and must obtain a score of at least 75%.
- Badges are permitted.
Private Investigators Licensing Authority in Hawaii:
The Board of Private Detectives and Guards is responsible for licensing in Hawaii.
Board Contact Information:
Board of Private Detectives and Guards
DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch
P.O. Box 3469
Honolulu, HI 96801
Telephone: (808) 586-2705
The State of Hawaii does not have reciprocity agreements with any other states in The United State.
Find a Private Investigator near you!
Our directory has useful resources for finding Expert P.I’s, Agencies, and Verified Private Investigators. Moreover, if you are seeking information on how to verify a private investigators license in Hawaii or simply need a Private Investigator near you, then our directory will prove to be valuable resource.